Legal Age to Purchase Marijuana in Colorado
Smoking cannabis was legalized in Colorado in 2012, where the age limit for consuming marijuana is 21 years and older. The Colorado cannabis law was enforced in 2014 when the possession of marijuana became legal for adults over 21 years of age. As per the Colorado cannabis law, it is unlawful to consume marijuana in public places or smoke cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school. Cannabis consumption and possession are also prohibited on a licensed business or any site where others could observe consumption or possession. Marijuana consumption and possession are also prohibited in a motor vehicle if it is located on school grounds and children present.
1. Purchasing Limits
The limit for purchasing marijuana in Colorado is 1 ounce of marijuana per day. The limitation applies to the consumer’s primary residence or the place where marijuana consumption occurs. The maximum amount of marijuana that an individual can purchase on a single day is 28 ounces, and no more than 10 ounces can be purchased within a single day.
2. Marijuana Cultivation and Possession Limits
The maximum amount of marijuana that can be grown at one time is 24 plants. If a person has more than 24 plants, they will be prosecuted for possession of marijuana. The cannabis cultivation law also prohibits the cultivation of more than 12 plants in the exact location. This means that if 12 plants are being grown in one place, it is illegal to have more than 12 plants growing in the same place. This makes it extremely difficult for a person to grow more than 12 plants in their residence. The law prohibits the cultivation of more than 12 plants at one time; however, it does not prohibit growing marijuana plants at different locations. For example, if a person has 24 plants at their residence, they can go to a friend’s house and plant 12 plants there.
3. Transporting Marijuana in Colorado
You can transport marijuana in Colorado as long as it is in your possession and not in the motor vehicle. However, you cannot transport marijuana from a school or any other location where it is prohibited to consume cannabis. The police may also search your vehicle if they have reason to believe that you are transporting illegal drugs where it is not permitted to consume marijuana. In addition, you can be arrested for transporting marijuana if you are caught with more than 1 ounce of cannabis and if the amount is not within your possession.
It is unlawful to possess more than 1 ounce of cannabis in Colorado, and this amount can be in the form of dried, ground, or unprocessed cannabis. Any other physical forms of cannabis are also illegal, and you cannot be arrested for possessing these forms. The Colorado law has not determined the possession limit for adults under 21 years of age, but it will be less than 1 ounce. It is unlawful to possess any amount of cannabis outside your immediate control unless it is in a sealed container that has been appropriately labeled. It is illegal to possess any amount of cannabis in a public place and a motor vehicle.
5. Use of Marijuana
It is also illegal to use marijuana in Colorado, including being under the influence of marijuana. It is unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 to be in a public place where it is prohibited to consume cannabis. It is also illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to be in a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana.
6. Where to smoke marijuana in Colorado
In Colorado, you can smoke marijuana in your private residence or in a place where you are legally allowed to smoke. However, if you are in a place where you are not allowed to smoke marijuana and consume it, the police will be able to arrest you, and you can even be charged with a felony.
The Colorado law regarding marijuana is very simple and straightforward. However, it is essential to note some exceptions to this law. These exceptions include being under the influence of marijuana and possessing more than 1 ounce of cannabis in Colorado. If you are charged with any of these offenses in Colorado, then you must seek professional legal advice immediately so that you can defend your rights to marijuana use in the state of Colorado.