Cannabis Smoking Laws in Colorado
Marijuana use is legal in Colorado and many other U.S. states. In Colorado, legal marijuana is either categorized as recreational or medicinal. Here is everything you need to know about weed laws in Colorado before you light up.
FAQs on Cannabis Smoking Laws in Colorado
Where do you buy recreational marijuana in Colorado?
Colorado has over 320 recreational marihuana dispensaries. These stores are permitted to sell weed between the hours of 8 a.m. and midnight in most jurisdictions. There are also plenty of Denver smoke shops that remain open until 7 p.m. The law requires that these marijuana stores only sell to people aged 21 and older. People aged 18 to 21 need a prescription to make a marijuana purchase. People under 21 need to produce a medical marijuana card to purchase 2 ounces of cannabis at any of the 300-plus registered weed dispensaries in this state.
Where are the weed-smoking zones in Colorado?
Finding weed, vape, or weed cookies in Colorado is never a big deal. Non-residents are only allowed, by law, to only purchasing up to a quarter ounce of weed per transaction, while the limit for residents is half an ounce of weed. In Colorado, the price for a 1/8-ounce ranges from $80 to $100, depending on the strain. It is perfectly legal for you to move around with the prescribed weed within Colorado, but once you have crossed state lines, different marijuana laws may apply. Before you haul your weed to neighboring states, ensure you are familiar with the state’s drug rules and regulations.
Does Colorado allow public smoking of weed?
Smoking weed in the open is banned in Colorado. That means it is illegal for you to smoke your legally acquired pot in public spaces such as entertainment scenes, amusement parks, schools, transportation facilities, and on the rooftops of commercial buildings. Smoking pot in offices restaurants is also illegal. The only place you are permitted to light up a blunt is at your private residence in Colorado. Alternatively, you can frequent private membership clubs where smoking cannabis is allowed. These establishments permit weed smokers to purchase a one-day membership to enjoy their stash.
Is smoking pot allowed in Colorado hotels and restaurants?
In recent times, the growing number of tourists to the state has prompted some hotels and restaurants to relax their weed-smoking restrictions. Today, an increasing number of hospitality facilities are “marijuana-friendly,” and guests are free to smoke their legally acquired weed on their premises. Some hotels and restaurants where you can enjoy your cannabis in Colorado include the Speak Easy Vape Lounge, LOVA Canna, Club 64, My 420 Tours, Loopr, City Sessions Denver, and the Adagio B&B.
Is smoking pot in cars allowed in Colorado?
According to Colorado’s marijuana laws, it is perfectly legal to transport weed in a vehicle, provided it gets stored in sealed containers. Also, the weed must not get transported across state lines. However, it is illegal to smoke the legally purchased pot in the vehicle. You risk serious criminal charges if you get caught smoking weed in your cars. This law applies to smoking in both moving and stationary vehicles.
Is smoking weed allowed at the licensed dispensary?
No, you are not permitted to light up your blunts at the retailer’s premises. Smoking in and around these marijuana retailers’ premises is grounds for prosecution.
Can you get slapped with a DUI for using store-bought weed?
Even though marijuana use is legal in Colorado, there are exceptions to the rule. If found operating a vehicle while stoned, the officers will check your THC levels. You will get DUI charges if your blood THC levels exceed the state’s limits. Drivers found to have THC levels of above five nanograms are deemed impaired and, therefore, not permitted to operate vehicles on private or public roads. To avoid costly DUI punitive charges, don’t smoke pot and drive.
Can you buy weed at the dispensaries using a debit or credit card?
Yes, the drug laws in Colorado permit you to pay for your legal weed using your debit card. The marijuana dispensing ATMs also accept cash. Purchasing weed using a credit card is banned in Colorado, however.
While in Colorado, only light up your weed in designated zones, such as your private residence or an authorized establishment. But marijuana laws are constantly evolving in Colorado. You don’t want to get caught on the wrong side of the cannabis laws. The resulting fines are massive. It is, therefore, in your best interest to stay updated on the latest cannabis rules and regulations. That helps to avoid conflicts with the law.